Rules Project #11: Burned vs. Burnt

As I have been completing my rules project I have stumbled over several words that are often confused because of meaning, tense and punctuation; however, one instance that I just found for the first time is more based on where you are in the world, rather than a grammar difference.  The two words that I found for this idea were burned and burnt. 

*“Burned” and “burnt” are both acceptable past-tense forms of the verb “burn,” but which one you use depends on where you live because the verb “burned” is the most common form in the United States, and the verb “burnt” is the most common form in Britain.

  1. Mom burned the muffins.
  2. Mum burnt the crumpets.

*When you’re using the words as adjectives, then “burnt” is also used in the United States, although “burned” is still an option.

  1. My favorite dessert is burnt cream.
  2. What happened to my burnt umber crayon?
  3. My husband looked at the burnt turkey and suggested we order pizza.

 

http://grammar.quickanddirtytips.com/burned-versus-burnt.aspx

Leave a Reply

